Hing Keung Ma
Published Online:
27 Sep 2007
Volume/Issue No:
Volume 23 Issue 1-6

Additional Options

Kohlberg's theory of moral development is extended and revised. The Chinese perspectives on moral development are integrated into the present 6‐stage model. The last three stages are: (4) Golden mean orientation and social system; (5) Majority rights and individual rights, and (6) Universal ethical principles of natural harmony. The first three stages are hypothesized to be cultural universal but the last three stages are supposed to have a cultural component. For each of the Stages 4, 5 and 6, a general structure is constructed and then a Chinese sub‐structure and a Western sub‐structure are derived from their corresponding general structure. Confucian and Taoistic philosophies are employed to elaborate some of the characteristics of the Chinese sub‐structures.

La théorie du développement moral de Kohlberg est revisée et augmentée. Les points de vue chinois sur le développement moral sont intégrés dans le présent modèle en six stages. Les trois derniers stages sont: (4) L'orientation en fonction de la Moyenne en Or et le système social, (5) Les droits de la majorité et les droits individuels, (6) Les principes d'éthique universels de l'harmonie naturelle. Il est postulé que les trois premiers stages sont culturellement universel, mais que les trois derniers possèdent une composante culturelle. Pour les Stages 4, 5 et 6, une structure générale est d'abord présentée, suivie de sous‐structures chinoise et occidentale qui sont dérivées de la structure générale correspondante. Les philosophies Taoiste et Confucianiste sont utilisées pour élaborer davantage quelques‐unes des caractéristiques des sous‐structures chinoises.

© 1988 International Union of Psychological Science