IUPsyS Award Winners

Skip to Navigation

Skip to Search

Publish Date:
20 Jul, 2012


The IUPsyS has great pleasure in announcing the winners of its sponsored awards, which were presented over the course of ICP 2012, Cape Town International Conference Centre, Cape Town.

Mattei Dogan Prize
Recognizes a contribution that represents a major advancement in psychology by a scholar or team of scholars of high international reputation.

Prize WinnerProfessor Annette Karmiloff-Smith, Birkbeck College, University of London, UK

Award ceremony at ICP2012: 11:00 -12:00, Wendnesday 25th July

Young Investigator Awards
Recognize young post-doctoral scientists who have already made a significant contribution to psychological science.  There are separate award for Basic and Applied Science.

Award Winner (Basic Science)
Dr William Cunningham, University of Toronto, Canada
Award Winner (Applied Science)
Dr Naomi I. Eisenberger, University of California, Los Angeles, USA

Award ceremony at ICP2012: 12:30 – 13:00, Thursday 26th July

Achievement Against the Odds Award
Honors a researcher or team of researchers who succeeded in conducting research under extremely difficult circumstances.

Award WinnerDr Sathasivan (Saths) Cooper, previously Vice Chancellor and Principal of the University of Durban-Westville
Award ceremony at ICP2012: 11:00 – 12:00 Thursday 26th July

Lifetime Career Award
Honors distinguished and enduring lifetime contributions to international cooperation and advancement of knowledge in the field of psychological science.

Award Winner
Professor Emeritus Albert Bandura, Stanford University, USA
Award ceremony at ICP2012: 11:00 -12:00, Monday 23rd July

    President's Overview
    Conclusions of the International Congress for Psychology 2012 "serving humanity" that ends today in Cape Town.

    APA-IUPsyS Global Mental Health Fellowship

    Psychologists with research experience and leadership in areas related to the WHO Mental Health Action Plan are invited to consider a 1-year Fellowship working in Geneva, Switzerland at WHO headquarters in the Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse. The final approval of funding for the program will be confirmed in December 2014 and applicants will be notified of the fellowship decision by 01 February 2015. Fellows are expected to bring their own core salary funding. Supplemental funds for travel and accommodation will be provided pending funding approval. The application deadline is 30 November 2014. For more information, see: http://www.apa.org/about/awards/global-health-fellowship.aspx.