Nominations for TWAS-Celso Furtado Prize

Skip to Navigation

Skip to Search

Publish Date:
25 Jan, 2013


With funding from the Brazilian Government for four years, the prize will recognize social scientists who have been living and working in a developing country for at least ten years


The prize reflects the Brazilian government's strong support for TWAS and, more generally, for helping to build scientific capacity in the developing world. Such support has been reflected in the efforts of the former Presidents of Brazil Fernando Henrique Cardoso (TWAS Fellow 1984) and Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva, and the former Ministers of Science and Technology José Israel Vargas (TWAS Fellow 1988) and Sergio Rezende (TWAS Fellow 2004). President Cardoso and Minister Vargas played central roles in the creation of the TWAS-Celso Furtado Prize in Social Sciences."

The TWAS-Celso Furtado Prize is named after the renowned Brazilian economist, Furtado (1920-2Celso Monteiro 2004). Furtado's research focused on the plight of the poor in Brazil and throughout South America. He emphasized the importance of devising economic development policies that focused on building a strong industrial base for what he often referred to as 'peripheral economies'. He also foresaw the rise of a globalized world, which he said would be spurred by 'the spread of the world economy', and he urged developing countries to take steps to ensure that they would not be marginalized in the face of these trends.


  • From 2012 for four years an annual prize of US$15,000 will be awarded in the field of Social Sciences.
  • The prize is accompanied by a medal.
  • The prize will be presented on a special occasion, often coinciding with the General Meeting of TWAS.


  • Candidates for the TWAS-Celso Furtado Prize in Social Sciences must be scientists who have been working and living in a developing country for at least ten years immediately prior to their nomination. They must meet the following criterion:
  • To have made an outstanding contribution in both understanding and addressing social sciences disciplines such as economics, political sciences and sociology.
  • Members of TWAS and candidates for TWAS membership are not eligible for the prize.
  • Self-nominations will not be considered.


  • TWAS is inviting nominations from all its members as well as science academies, national research councils, universities and scientific institutions in developing and developed countries.
  • Nominations must be made on the nomination form and clearly state the contribution the candidate has made to the development of the social sciences.
  • The nominee's CV and her/his complete list of publications are also required.
  • Nominations of women social scientists are particularly encouraged.
  • Nominations for the 2013 prize must be submitted to the address shown below by 28 February 2013. Nominations arriving later will be considered in the following year.


Selection of the awardees is made on merit and on the recommendations of the selection committees composed of TWAS members.

2013 Nomination Form

Click on the links below to download the nomination form and info sheet (Word files).

TWAS-Celso Furtado Prize Nomination Form. Deadline: 28 February 2013

Information sheet


Inquiries and completed nomination forms should be addressed to:

 TWAS-Celso Furtado Prize in Social Sciences
 ICTP Campus, Strada Costiera 11
 I-34151 Trieste, Italy
 Phone: +39 040 2240 387
 Fax: +39 040 2240 7387
 E-mail: prizes [at]