2020 IUPsyS Awards: Deadline 01 July 2019

Skip to Navigation

Skip to Search

Publish Date:
25 Feb, 2019


Full details of the awards may be viewed at: http://www.iupsys.net/about/awards/index.html

2020 IUPsyS Awards

The International Union of Psychological Science (IUPsyS) is pleased to announce its quadrennial awards detailed below. Presentation of the awards will be at the 32nd International Congress of Psychology (ICP) in Prague, Czech Republic, July 2020. IUPsyS will meet travel and accommodation costs for attendance at the Award Ceremony in Prague, where each awardee will be expected to deliver an address.

Major Advancement in Psychological Science Prize

IUPsyS established the Major Advancement in Psychological Science Prize in 2006 (formerly the Mattei Dogan Prize). Awarded for the first time to Michael Posner at the 29th Berlin ICP in 2008, the Prize carries an honorarium of US $4 000. The Major Advancement in Psychological Science Prize is awarded every four years at International Congresses of Psychology in recognition of a contribution that represents a major advancement in psychology by a scholar or team of scholars of high international reputation. Preference may be given to scholars still active in scientific research. Persons who have served on the IUPsyS Executive Committee are not eligible to be nominated for the Prize until four years after the end of their service on the Executive Committee. The Prize recipient will be invited to deliver a scientific lecture at the Prague ICP.

Achievement Against the Odds Award

Instituted in 2010, the Achievement Against the Odds Award seeks to honour a researcher or team of researchers who succeeded in conducting research under extremely difficult circumstances, possibly involving great personal risk or hardship to the greater good of scientific research, the scientific community, and/or the general public. This award is related primarily to attributes such as resiliency against extraordinary odds and particular importance will also be given to the long-term impact of the work in question. The awardee will be invited to deliver an address at the Prague ICP.

Lifetime Career Award

The Lifetime Career Award honours distinguished and enduring lifetime contributions to international cooperation and advancement of knowledge in the field of psychological science. Awarded for the first time in 2012 to Albert Bandura at the 30th Cape Town ICP, this award also brings the work of distinguished scientists to the attention of a broader audience and promotes the contribution of psychology as a discipline in the public good. The awardee will be invited to deliver a lecture at the Prague ICP. 

Young Investigator Awards

Two IUPsyS Young Investigator Awards are given in recognition of young post-doctoral psychologists who have already made a significant contribution to psychological science through excellent research, refereed publications, success in securing research grants and visibility. Instituted in 2010, one award is for young investigators within basic science, and the other is for those working within applied science. Awardees will be invited to present an address at the Prague ICP.

Nominations will be evaluated by a Jury appointed by the IUPsyS Executive Committee. The selection will be made approximately six months prior to the Congress. The selected recipients will be informed and invited to the 32nd International Congress of Psychology in Prague, Czech Republic, 19-24 July 2020, and to take part in Award activities. Nominations, which should be received by 31 May 2019, may be sent to the Secretary-General (anndwatts@iafrica.com; cc karl.swain@iupsys.org). Full details of the awards may be viewed at: http://www.iupsys.net/about/awards/index.html