IUPsyS in the 21st Century – the Move Toward Strategic Planning: An overview of the IUPsyS 2004-2008

Merry Bullock
Deputy Secretary-General

Pierre L-J Ritchie Secretary-General

During the period 2004-2008, the International Union of Psychological Science (IUPsyS) laid the groundwork for a sustained growth in scope, focus, visibility and impact. It developed a broad and ambitious strategic plan, and expanded its resources to put the plan into action. By the end of the quadrennium, the Union stood poised to vigorously pursue its mission to develop, represent and advance psychology as a basic and applied science nationally, regionally and internationally.

This article is a brief summary of the activities of IUPsyS during the quadrennium. It covers activities beginning after the 2004 Assembly at the XXVIII International Congress of Psychology in Beijing, China to the conclusion of the 2008 Assembly at the XXIX International Congress of Psychology in Berlin, Germany. We will highlight activities of the Union in the following core areas: Union Structure, International Congresses, Capacity Building, Publications, Policies and Engagement with global bodies.

Union Structure

During the 2004-2008 quadrennium, the Union grew to 71 National Members with the admission of Jordan and Sudan in 2004 and Namibia in 2008. The adhering bodies for India (2004) and Spain and France (2008) each changed to a federation to reflect broad representation of psychology in

each of these countries. The number of affiliates grew to 14 with the establishment of ARUPS, the ASEAN Regional Union of Psychological Societies, and its affiliation with the Union in 2008. At the close of 2008, national psychology associations in a number of additional countries were engaged in active preparations for membership. The admission and progress toward admission of new National Members is compatible with and prompted by the Union's capacity-building activities in several regions of the world.

The Executive Committee for the 2004-2008 quadrennium, elected or ratified by the more than 60 delegates at the 2004 Union Assembly, came from Canada, China, France, Germany, Greece, Japan, Mexico, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, the UK, the US, and Yemen. They were: President, Prof. Bruce Overmier (USA); Secretary-General, Prof. Pierre Ritchie (Canada); Past-President, Prof. Michel Denis (France); Treasurer, Prof. Michel Sabourin (Canada); Vice-Presidents, Profs. Saths Cooper (South Africa) and Ingrid Lunt (UK); Deputy Secretary-General, Dr. Merry Bullock (USA); Members: Profs. Helio Carpintero (Spain), James Georgas (Greece); Hassan Khan (Yemen); Sunoko Kuwano (Japan), Patrick Lemaire (France), Elizabeth Nair (Singapore), Juan José Sanchez Sosa (Mexico); Rainer Silbereisen (Germany), Barbara