Change Fellowship Awards

Change Fellowship Pic

In 2012 the Jacobs Foundation, in conjunction with the South African National Research Foundation and IUPsyS, sponsored a number of Change Fellowship Awards.  These awards are directed at young researchers (post-doctoral and higher) from sub-Saharan Africa. The initiative aims to encourage young researchers to conceive and carry out their own research programs, addressing the role of social change for individual behavior and development among young people in their country.

Following a highly competitive process, seven awards, each for €25,000, have been granted to the following individuals:


Dr Amina Abubakar Ali

Kenya Medical Research Institute

Prof. Brett Bowman

University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg

Dr Anita Menon

University of Zambia

Dr Bronwyn Myers

University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg

Dr Nduna Mzikazi

University of Cape Town

Dr Peter Olamakinde Olapegba

Adekunle Ajasin University, Nigeria

Dr Nadia Sanger

Human Sciences Research Council, Cape Town



The Change Fellows provided progress reports at a session of the International Congress of Psychology (ICP2012) held in Cape Town, South Africa in July 2012. Final reports will be available in due course.