Outcomes Of General Assembly 2012

Many thanks to all National Member Delegates and Representatives, Affiliate Representatives and other friends who attended and contributed to the recent Assembly meetings in Cape Town.

Key Outcomes Of The Meetings Included:

Elections and appointments

  • Election of President: Dr Saths Cooper
  • Election of Vice-President: Dr Tor Levin Hofgaard
  • Ratification of Secretary-General: Dr Ann Watts
  • Ratification of Treasurer: Professor Michel Sabourin
  • Ratification of Treasurer-Designate: Professor Jean-Pierre Blondin
  • Election of 10 members of the Executive Committee

See Details of the 2012-2016 Executive Committee

New National Members

Congratulations to the representative bodies of the following newly-elected National Members

  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Cyprus
  • Grenada
  • Lebanon
  • Malaysia
  • Mozambique
  • Sri Lanka
  • Trinidad and Tobago

Details of these new member countries

Changes in adhering bodies

The adhering body for Colombia’s National Membership is now the Colombian College of Psychologists (Colegio Colombiano de Psicólogos).

Organizations gaining Affiliate Status

Strategic plan 2012-2016

Statute changes, relating to:

  • Deletion of Deputy Secretary-General and addition of Executive Officer
  • Clarification of eligibility for nominations from the floor at the Assembly
  • Universality of Science: Addition of free and responsible practice and equitable opportunities for access

See Statutes adopted by the Assembly

Choice of venue for 32nd International Congress of Psychology in 2020

The Assembly voted to approve, in principle, the proposal to hold ICP2020 in Prague, Czech Republic