IUPsyS Award Winners

The IUPsyS has great pleasure in announcing the winners of its sponsored awards, which were presented over the course of ICP 2012, Cape Town International Conference Centre, Cape Town.

Mattei Dogan Prize
Recognizes a contribution that represents a major advancement in psychology by a scholar or team of scholars of high international reputation.

Prize WinnerProfessor Annette Karmiloff-Smith, Birkbeck College, University of London, UK

Award ceremony at ICP2012: 11:00 -12:00, Wendnesday 25th July

Young Investigator Awards
Recognize young post-doctoral scientists who have already made a significant contribution to psychological science.  There are separate award for Basic and Applied Science.

Award Winner (Basic Science)
Dr William Cunningham, University of Toronto, Canada
Award Winner (Applied Science)
Dr Naomi I. Eisenberger, University of California, Los Angeles, USA

Award ceremony at ICP2012: 12:30 – 13:00, Thursday 26th July

Achievement Against the Odds Award
Honors a researcher or team of researchers who succeeded in conducting research under extremely difficult circumstances.

Award WinnerDr Sathasivan (Saths) Cooper, previously Vice Chancellor and Principal of the University of Durban-Westville
Award ceremony at ICP2012: 11:00 – 12:00 Thursday 26th July

Lifetime Career Award
Honors distinguished and enduring lifetime contributions to international cooperation and advancement of knowledge in the field of psychological science.

Award Winner
Professor Emeritus Albert Bandura, Stanford University, USA
Award ceremony at ICP2012: 11:00 -12:00, Monday 23rd July

President’s Overview
Conclusions of the International Congress for Psychology 2012 “serving humanity” that ends today in Cape Town.